Barry Mason, Q.C. | Partner

Partner

Barry is a founder and partner of Pressé Mason. He graduated from Dalhousie Law School in 1993 and was admitted to the Nova Scotia Bar in 1994.
 
Barry is a member of the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society, the Canadian Bar Association and the Atlantic Provinces Trial Lawyers Association. He is a Past President of the Atlantic Provinces Trial Lawyers Association. He has acted for thousands of plaintiffs in numerous insurance matters and has appeared before the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal, the Federal Court Trial Division, the Federal Court of Appeal and various tribunals.
 
Barry was lead counsel in Hartling v. Nova Scotia (Attorney General), the case involving a constitutional challenge to the Nova Scotia Auto Insurance Reform Act (the CAP).
 
Barry has presented various papers on numerous topics regarding personal injury and insurance law. He also served as a member of the discovery and disclosure working group of the Nova Scotia Rules Reform and Revision Project.
 
Barry has been recognized in the 2007 to 2014 editions of the Best Lawyers in Canada for his work in the field of personal injury law.  He has been awarded the Canadian Bar Association’s Community Service Award (2008), the Atlantic Provinces Trial Lawyers Association’s Courageous Advocacy Award (2011) and was named Bedford’s Volunteer of the Year Award (2007).
 
Barry is the Past Chair of the Bedford Business Association, Past Chair of the Rocky Lake Association and is a current Trustee of the IWK Health Centre Foundation.
 
In 2014, Barry was awarded the prestigious designation of Queen's Counsel (Q.C.) for his contribution to his community and to the justice system in Nova Scotia.
 
Assistants
Kim Whitman - kim.whitman@pressemason.ns.ca
Amy Robertson - arobertson@pressemason.ns.ca
Jessika Gilker - jessika.gilker@pressemason.ns.ca
Real Estate Assistants
Denise Johnstone - djohnstone@pressemason.ns.ca
Valerie King  - vking@pressemason.ns.ca
Stacey Sangster - ssangster@pressemason.ns.ca

Areas of Practice

  • Personal Injury Law
  • Wrongful Dismissal Law
  • General Litigation
  • Real Estate Law

Contact

P902 832 1175

F902 832 1856

1 800 630 2254

bmason@pressemason.ns.ca

Do you know a specific lawyer whom you would like to contact?